About Wuhan & Wuhan University

About Wuhan

Wuhan is the capital city of Hubei province. The Yangtze River and Hanjiang River join here in the horn of herringbone, dividing Wuhan into Wuchang, Hankou, Hanyang districts. In the late Ming Dynasty and the early Qing Dynasty, Hankou, along with Zhuxian Town, Jingde Town and Foshan Town, was prized as the four most famous towns. Wuhan is known as the city of thousand lakes. 166 lakes distributed in the area, accounting for one fourth of the city area, winning the title of the most attractive eastern watery city. East Lake, the biggest lake in urban area in Asia, owns the lake surface of 33 square kilometers. There are beautiful sceneries in East Lake all year round, with flowers swinging in the breeze. You can see cherry blossom in springs, lotus in summers, sweet osmanthus in autumns, and plum blossom in winters.

Wuhan is the city of innovation and entrepreneurship. There are 84 universities and 1.3 million college students in Wuhan, which possesses the most college students in China. Qintai Grand Theatre, located beside Moon Lake in Hanyang, is the third biggest Chinese professional performance place. Hubei Museum, located beside East Lake in Wuchang is one of the most famous museums across the country, where display the biggest ancient musical instrument, Chinese Chime Bells. And as well, the Theatre for Han-Style Performances is the biggest indoor water-show theatre in the world. Today, Wuhan is updating and vibrant.

Welcome to the River City, Wuhan.  

About Wuhan University

Wuhan University (WHU) is a comprehensive and key national university directly under the administration of the Ministry of Education. It is also one of the "211 Project" and "985 Project" universities with full support in the construction and development from the central and local government of China.

The history of Wuhan University can be traced back to Ziqiang Institute, which was founded in 1893 by Zhang Zhidong, the then governor of Hubei Province and Hunan Province in the late Qing Dynasty. In the process of development and evolution, the institute changed its name several times before it was finally named Wuhan National University in 1928. It is one of the earliest comprehensive national universities in modern China. By the end of 1946, the university had established 6 colleges, the colleges of liberal art, law, sciences, engineering, agriculture and medicine. In 2000, an amalgamation of the former Wuhan University, Wuhan University of Hydraulic and Electric Engineering, Wuhan Technical University of Surveying and Mapping, and Hubei Medical University was announced, which ushered in a new era in its 100-odd years of development.

For the past century, Wuhan University has built an elegant palatial architectural complex of primitive simplicity which blends perfectly the eastern architectural style with that of the west. It is honored as the "Most Beautiful University in China." Furthermore, Wuhan University's centennial humanistic accumulation boils down to its succinct motto, that is, "Self-improvement, Perseverance, Truth-seeking & Innovation."

Since its establishment, Wuhan University has cultivated more than 300 thousand professional talents in various occupations, among whom there are over 100 members of the Chinese Academy of Science and the Chinese Academy of Engineering. They have made great contribution to the national construction and social advancement. The remarkable achievements of Wuhan University have won itself an extensive international reputation. In 2018, the world renowned journal Science listed Wuhan University as one of the most prominent institutions of higher education in China.

Burgeoning are the international exchanges and cooperation of Wuhan University in recent years. It has established cooperative relationship with more than 415 universities and research institutes in over 45 countries and regions.

Now Wuhan University is endeavoring to shape itself into a world-class comprehensive research university domestically and internationally.